EbeneInfo – GB – Cavan 1-13 Donegal 0-12: Breffni scores upset victory to win Ulster title



Gaelic Football News

A late goal from Conor Madded helped Cavan topple Donegal, 1-13 to 0-12 in the Ulster final for their first Anglo-Celt Cup triumph since 1997, in a mind-blowing day of shock results in the championship

Remarkably, 100 years after a historic year for the GAA and the 100th anniversary of Bloody Sunday weekend, Cavan’s victory means the All-Ireland semi-final will be the same as 1920

Cavan will face Dublin, with Mayo facing Tipperary, after the PM knocked out Cork In the 1920 Championship (which concluded two years later), Tipp beat Dublin in the decider

The upheaval seemed to be on the cards after the opening stops at the Athletic Grounds Unlike their previous three games in the Ulster campaign, Mickey Graham’s side broke blocks to take a 0-5-0 lead -2

However, the reigning champions stabilized and the point doubles from Paddy McBrearty and Niall O’Donnell helped them take a 0-9 to 0-7 lead at halftime

McBrearty gave Tír Chonaill’s men a good start after the break, pointing But Breffni County responded brilliantly, with Thomas Galligan and James Smith’s points keeping them in touch

Faster goal updates Hundreds of teams and leagues Free Premier League, EFL and Scotland Highlights Download the app now

They continued to lead the game in Donegal, trailing just one point in the second half water break

Conor Smith was then given a black card, but the penalty kill didn’t seem to impact his side, as Martin Reilly equalized him in the 60th minute before Gearóid McKiernan put them in the lead.

As the game progressed into the four minutes of extra time, Gearoid McKiernan sent a high ball into Donegal’s place Shaun Patton pushed him back, but only into the hands of Conor Madden who wasn’t wrong

It was a setback that Donegal failed to recover from, and Cavan was keen to end a 23-year wait for provincial glory

Donegal’s pursuit for a third straight Ulster title has failed with Declan Bonner’s side knocked out of the championship

Cavan: Raymond Galligan, Jason McLoughlin (0-1), Padraig Faulkner, Luke Fortune; Gerard Smith (0-1), Killian Clarke, Ciaran Brady (0-1); Thomas Galligan (0-1), Killian Brady; Martin Reilly (0-1), Gearoid McKiernan (0-2), Oisin Kiernan (0-2); James Smith (0-2), Chris Conroy, Conor Smith

Donegal: Shaun Patton; Eoghan Ban Gallagher, Neil McGee, Eoin McHugh; Ryan McHugh (0-1), Paul Brennan, Peadar Mogan (0-1); Hugh McFadden, Caolan McGonigle (0-2); Brendan McCole, Niall O’Donnell (0-2), Michael Langan (0-1); Paddy McBrearty (0-4), Michael Murphy (0-1), Jamie Brennan

© 2020 Sky France

Ulster, Ulster Senior Football Championship, Donegal GAA, Cavan GAA

EbeneInfo – GB – Cavan 1-13 Donegal 0-12: Breffni scores a reverse victory to claim the title of Ulster

Source: https://www.skysports.com/gaa/gaelic-football/news/30553/12139516/cavan-1-13-donegal-0-12-breffni-score-upset-victory-to-claim-ulster-title

Abonnez-vous à notre chaîne Youtube en cliquant ici

Vidéo du jour: De la cocaïne retrouvée dans une école maternelle de Seine Saint Denis, deux enfants hospitalisés

– Pub –